Does my baby desert tortoise look healthy?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mojaverocco

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Nevada
He was in red calcium sand before and his shell got dyed red for a while but it wore off kinda. Now he is properly cared for living outside in his natural climate of Las Vegas Nevada. He has a water bowl and he always soaks in it but he always looks dry. He eats dandelions and grass as well as an occasional marigold

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 136

WillTort2

5 Year Member
I'm not experienced with the desert tort; but for young torts I would think more humidity would be better. A humid hide is often advised.

But stay tuned for input from the more experienced keepers.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I really don't know about a tortoise's shell, but I know a little about a horse's hoof. The outer layer of the hoof is covered by periople. Periople's (stratum externum's) functon is protection of the stratum medium (Hoof wall) from moisture loss as the wall is growing down from the coronary band. I wonder if each scute's outermost layer also contains periople. If so, the abrasive quality of the original substrate might has rubbed off this protective layer causing what you now see as a dry-looking shell. It wouldn't hurt to rub on a thin coating of Vita Shell. Rub it in thoroughly, then polish it off. Or you could even use mineral oil. But be sure to polish it all off so no dirt will stick to it.

kanalomele

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
East Bay area