Do tortoises make noises?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nyan tort

5 Year Member
Hi

I'm a total noob @ tortoises but I am currently setting up a nice indoor habitat for a Hermann tortoise (my mom is as excited for this as I am!). It will be my third pet buddy(I had 2 goldfish when I was little).

Well... I can't really find videos on these guys making any sort of noises. I saw a huge tortoise make a growly sound but a Hermann is like 1/40 of its size lol.

zesty_17

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
yes, my box turtles make a voluntary clicking sound, and there is to be a presentation on this very topic at this year's TSA conference next week! I am very excited about this pres. See www.turtlesurvival.org for information

Reactions: myk

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
I think with most of them you never hear them unless they are breeding. Some do this noise that's sorta growl/whistle when scared and are trying to scare you instead, but it's just actually air being forced out not a true voice noise. Some "whistle" when under stress, wrong environments, and such too.

laramie

5 Year Member
Scottsdale, AZ
I have heard Wilbur makes little noises. It seems he makes noises mostly during his soaks. Welcome to the forum.

Cfr200

10 Year Member!
Springfield, Mo
Fred my 14 month old Sulcata makes squealing like noises quite often, kind of sounds like a mouse. When she was eating today I heard her a few time making noises it seems a little strange, but it happens. It took me sometime to figure out what was making the noise.

african cake queen

5 Year Member
ct.usa
hi, my pancake only make noise when the male is being pesky with his female. he sound like a monkey.'lol' lindy

hi, my pancake only make noise when the male is being pesky with his female. he sounds like a monkey.'lol' lindy

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA