Coughing Russian tortoise

davewallace

Location (City and/or State)
scotland
Hi I'm new at this so please be gentle,

So here's the back story, my wife bought me a Russian tortoise a couple weeks back along
with a vivarium (90l x 38w x 46h cm) and basking lamp (60w) and uv and straw pellets for
sub.

Got it all set up and noticed not to long after that the temps were far too high. Nearly 45c so changed basking lamp to a 40w and got rid of the glass doors completely and now have a steady 35c at hot end and 24c at cool end.

Couple weeks later he started coughing and stopped eating, being new at this I panicked and took him straight to the vet where it was confirmed he has a respiratory infection :-(.

After a bit of digging found out that it may have been the substrate that caused this so out with the evil straw pellets and in with a 50-50 mix of topsoil and play pit sand.

Now on 2nd day of the new substrate and antibiotics, still coughing but not all the time. He did have a few bites of romaine lettuce earlier so i take this as a good sign even though he just sleeps all day.

Is there anything else I can do to help the poor wee fella?

Thanks in advance on any advice giving.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Dave, and welcome to the Forum!

It would be a good idea to moisten the substrate to keep down the dust.

Can we see a picture of your tortoise inside of his habitat so we can get an idea of what's going on with him?

1028762jld543t69m.gif

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
I seriously doubt the substrate caused the RI, it may have aggravated it. Keep him 5 or so degrees warmer while he is on his med cycle. Is he on meds for the RI?
Oh and by the way, salutations.

davewallace

scotland
Thanks Yvonne, feel bad for the fella. If had know he was coming I would have been better prepared.

davewallace

scotland