chipped shell and flaky scales?

Hi
I have had my horsefield tortoise for a week now. I am new to caring for a tortoise.

I believe he is no older than 8 months. He has quite dry flaky scales on his head and legs. Is this normal? I am bathing him for only a few minutes each day as he does not seem keen. I thought dehydration maybe?

His shell also has a sort of line down the the middle which seems ever so slightly raised and shinier than other parts. Could this be shell 8growth?

Also, his shell near his tail seems incomplete, almost as if it has been damaged. Could he have hatched like this or will it grow?

Any help appreciated! Thanks!

Pearly

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Central Texas, Austin area
Welcome to the Forum. The chipped shell margin must have been due to some kind of a trauma, nothing you can do about it now. As for the dryness of skin/shell/scales, torts need high humidity and all baby torts should get daily soaks to stay well hydrated. I also rub mine down with extra virgin coconut oil about once a week after their bath. It helps keeping their skin supple and conditions those shells and scales. But if you don't like the idea of massaging coco oil into your tort then just be sure keep her enclosure warm and humid and give her daily soaks. Make sure she has access to drinking water 24/7. Torts DO DRINK!!!! I see mine now drink all the time! When they were babies they were a lot more discrete about it but they DO drink.

Thanks. He is very reluctant to soak. It really seems to stress him out so I only bathe him for a few minutes. Hopefully this will improve with time.

Pearly

5 Year Member
Thanks. He is very reluctant to soak. It really seems to stress him out so I only bathe him for a few minutes. Hopefully this will improve with time.