Can someone with experience offer help?

Rhoen1

Hi :) I'm new to tortoises, despite knowing my way around turtles. I've fallen in love with sulcatas, but I live in CANADA. I've found the roughly 95sqft I have to keep one in, and my mom is considering it. In the mean time, I had a few questions I couldn't find answers for.
1) It can reach -35 in my area at night, and I'm in an attic. I've seen many people with heaters in wooden boxes, how many would I need to keep it comfortable?
2) Can a sulcatas have too much room? If I get one, it will be in spring, and likely a younger one. Turtles get overwhelmed and stressed by large enclosures, do sulcatas?
3) what are some hide options? I've seen people use dog crates or what appears to be Rubbermaid bins and litter boxes, are there others?

Thanks so much in advance! :) I'll keep you up to date.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome.
1. Only your thermometer can answer this.
2. No. I start hatchlings in 4x8 closed chambers. My young adults are in a 7000 sq. pen.
3. Easiest to build your own hide boxes.

Who told you that you only need 95 sq. ft. for a sulcata? That is enough room for a small one, but not an adult. You will need a large room for an adult and you will have to keep it warm, like tropical Africa warm, all year long.

Any species can be kept anywhere in the world with enough time, money and effort. Do you have the time, money, space and ability to keep a 100 pound tropical animal in a cold climate. You know they eat and poop as much as a small horse, right?

Rhoen1

I know, I was just wondering roughly. What kind of heater do you use?
Ok. Sounds good, and while I was reading up I kept seeing 100sqft as the space required. Once or twice I saw as low as 80sqft. I know it will be tough, but that's why I'm researching first :) I'm trying to decide if I can provide what is needed for such a wonderful, yet large animal :)