Black Mountain Tortoise:

conservation

10 Year Member!
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to mountain tortoises. I plan on keeping mine outdoors this summer. I have an outdoor planted enclosure built. I am going to add some shade cloth. I have a sprinkler system that keeps them moist. If I can get these tortoises to thrive through the summer my next concern will be winter. My winter temps touch on 32 once or twice a season during night time but they warm up to the 60's. The last few months with temps in the 70s-80s they are thriving outdoors. I would love to add more to my group if I can figure a way of keeping them outdoors year round.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Same as with any other type of tortoise...you just need a heated shelter.

emysbreeder

5 Year Member
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to mountain tortoises. I plan on keeping mine outdoors this summer. I have an outdoor planted enclosure built. I am going to add some shade cloth. I have a sprinkler system that keeps them moist. If I can get these tortoises to thrive through the summer my next concern will be winter. My winter temps touch on 32 once or twice a season during night time but they warm up to the 60's. The last few months with temps in the 70s-80s they are thriving outdoors. I would love to add more to my group if I can figure a way of keeping them outdoors year round.