Begginer trying to start off right

bookworm13

Location (City and/or State)
ohio
hello im Ashley. I live in rural ohio.
I am just starting out. I have a 55 gallon tank. and that is all. i have few questions and would love some feedback to make sure i dont 1) do something horribly stupid and put the future tortoise in danger or overly stress the poor creature, and 2) dont waste money on things i dont need.
Im looking at getting a greek or russian tortoise in the near future. the research i have done these seem to be the best fit for me. the tank in question is for his/her primary home. in the summer i plan on building a outdoor encloser for outside time.

Now question time.
1) other than substrate, heat lamp, hide, heat pad, food dish, water pool. is there any thing i need to do to said tank in preparation?

2) I'm planning to put a layer or organic soil under a coconut coir be alright or would it be a waste? i would like some edible plants in it.

3) i would like some natural plants growing in the tank. which type would be best that they can eat and i can grow in said tank?

4) where do you find coconut coir and around what price range?

5)how often do you need to change the bedding?

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to TFO

Can I suggest that you start by reading these TFO guides written by species experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the internet and from pet stores and, sadly, from some breeders and vets too.

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Russian Tortoise Care
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Care of Greeks is broadly similar, so I'll leave it at that for now.

A 55 gallon tank is only big enough for a hatchling. It doesn't offer enough floor space for a tortoise that is any bigger.