Backyard Tortoise Keeping - Dietary Sustainability

Neal

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Hi friends.

I'm a goal and New Year’s resolution type of person, and this year my "tortoise goals" are to contribute more to the hobby as well as continue to expand my own knowledge. I have some more specific goals to help me along that path, and one of those is to create a new TFO thread each month. My approach will be to simply share what I am doing or discuss a topic I am studying no matter how frivolous it may seem, as that approach is what I appreciate most from other hobbyists. I'll try to remember to throw in discussion questions so this doesn't end up being just a diary.

My focus this month is dietary sustainability. One of the definitions of sustain is "to support the weight of, to carry or withstand". My application of this concept to backyard tortoise keeping is that I want to be able to grow all of the food that my tortoises need or would want to eat and I want to do it without any harmful impact to the environment, the tortoises or my bank account.

That's the long-term goal. I am nowhere near that point yet but am getting progressively better. Here is a picture of my backyard the day we bought the house 2 years ago:

117_zpsf6607afa.jpg

Although the weeds in the foreground look plentiful, they are about 95% mustard. Mustard is OK, the tortoises eat it when it's young but quickly loose interest when the plant grows and turns bitter. The tortoises seem to like the taste of mallow much better, another weed that grows well in the AZ winters. I was only able to locate one plant in the space above, and very quickly I began to miss our previous home:

IMG_21281_zps7637b594.jpg

I tried my best with that single mallow plant, watering it and even feeding it. I let it grow out as large as it could. Last winter I had about 10 plants pop up all around the area where the original plant was. Now two years later things are looking much better: