Alternative for Coiled UVB Lighting

WonderKitteh

Hi there.
Newbie here. I've introduced myself in the with the specifics of my setup: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/158861/

I realized that I have bought the wrong UVB light and that it can lead my cherry head tortoises being blind. I thank you for sharing that in the forum and I have stopped using the lights.

Living in Malaysia means that there is not a lot of choice in lighting so I'd really appreciate it if someone can share a link from Amazon or Ebay for a safe alternative to suit my enclosure. The good news is that we get plenty of sunshine :) and I could carry the whole enclosure outdoor on a partially shaded spot in the garden for a few hours in the morning when it is not raining.

This is the lighting set I've bought but stopped using.

Again, temperature is a constant 30-32°C without any heating, humidity 80 - 85 % in the enclosure.

Thank you so much in advance :)

Regards,
Nini

Attachments

• 1499082134885.jpg
    1499082134885.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 22

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
daily sunshine for an hour a day for a hatchling will do great. Just be sure there is shade as little ones can over heat easily. Then you can use a regular incandescent 60 watt bulb for the inside time and have that reach at tortoise height the proper basking temp. For proper night time heat use a ceramic heat emitter. Babies should be kept at 80F with the humidity of 80%. day and night. Be sure to keep top layer of substrate dry to prevent shell rot.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)