Advice and knowledge needed!!

Amy.and.Elsa

hi, I'm new to this so please hang in there with me!

We got our tortoise (Freddie) just over a month ago from a lady who said she just wasn't giving him what he needed. She said he was two years old (debatable I think)!From what I gather he was in a small vivarium and barely handled, and he was fed 2 meals a day of cucumber, bell peppers and lettuce. She offered me the vivarium and heat lamp (no uv lamp was mentioned so not entirely sure if he ever had one) but I didn't take them as I have read bad things about vivariums!

SO. He's home now. When we got him home I weighed and measured him, he was 417g and roughly 16cm in length. From the little I know I think he's probably around maybe 5/6 years old?
However, a few weeks later I weighed him and he'd lost just under 20g - I went into panic mode!
Since I've had him he's had full roam of the garden when the weathers been warm enough and has also got most of our downstairs if he wants to wander round with both heat and uv lamps available! I've also changed his diet, he's now on lambs lettuce with the occasional slice of my daughters banana or strawberries. When he's in the garden he demolishes the dandelions and also has access to geraniums, begonias and pansies and we are waiting for our 'tortoise seed mix' to grow (tho he hasn't really touched any of the flowers!)

Also in the last week he hasn't lost any more weight and has maybe gained 1/2g.

Could it be that he's just burning more energy chasing the cat around the garden all day and eating more healthily? I know there seems to be problems with tortoises being a bit greedy and over eating?

Also he has pyramiding, but I've noticed the last couple days his scutes seem smoother towards the bottom of each pyramid, I hope this is a good thing but I'm worried it's not and I've got this whole thing totally wrong?!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I just want a happy Freddie and want to give him the best I can