Accidentally ran over tortoise. Need help.

Krunal Rindani

Today, I accidentally ran over one of my tortoise. The car was at a very slow speed (I was parking it in my driveway). I realized that there was some sort of a bump and so I immediately reversed the car. I got out to find my tortoise completely fine (No cracking on his shell was visible), however I noticed a small cut at the edge of his tail. I carried him, and put him a water tank. I could see some blood around the cut. Also, I think that one side of his shell is lower than the other (I don't know if this happened after I ran over him or it was from before). I am really worried. Please help. Thanks in advance. If I have posted it to the wrong section, I'm sorry. This is my first time here.

Abdulla6169

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Dubai/New York
Today, I accidentally ran over one of my tortoise. The car was at a very slow speed (I was parking it in my driveway). I realized that there was some sort of a bump and so I immediately reversed the car. I got out to find my tortoise completely fine (No cracking on his shell was visible), however I noticed a small cut at the edge of his tail. I carried him, and put him a water tank. I could see some blood around the cut. Also, I think that one side of his shell is lower than the other (I don't know if this happened after I ran over him or it was from before). I am really worried. Please help. Thanks in advance. If I have posted it to the wrong section, I'm sorry. This is my first time here.
If the bloods minor it's not life threatening, can you post a pic? I'm not sure how a shell can shift positions, that's probably not very likely since the shell is fused with the underlying skin... There are probably no "fixes" if the shell changed place slightly, good luck :D

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA