A Happy RF Tortie Story

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mantissa3

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
San Francisco Bay Area
Gibby_Sunning03_c.jpgGibby_Outdoor_Pen.jpgIn_Log_Gibby.jpg

Hi: I'm new to the Tortoise Forum and new to the idea of keeping a Redfoot. My baby redfoot, Gibson, found me, basically. My husband and I keep hurt, blind, and injured (and slow and special needs and deformed-from-birth) birds. We buy our food from a feed and seed store locally (that should stay in their lane, but they are trying to branch out to pets and fish.)

In June I went to stock up for our flock and saw a horrible sight I'll never forget. In a 10 gallon tank with sand on the bottom and a really HOT light above, there were 3 little tortoises, one piece of dry driftwood, some pellets on the floor and about 1/16 inch of water in a tiny little dish- and the water was soiled.

Two of the tortie babies were literally frolicking around and playing together. The other was tucked in, with his face in the corner and his eyes closed. I got the guy minding the store to come with me and asked about the tortoise in the corner, tucked in tight while the other two played. I also asked if they should have more water, since the temperature was showing about 100 degrees F.

He said he didn't know and then went off to fill an order for bulk seed.

I can't explain it but I literally felt the little guy's pain- and I KNEW he was in trouble. Mind you, I know nothing at all about reptiles, but I was completely connected to the little guy in the corner and felt his extreme distress. 24 hours later, we went back to the pet store where I found him in the exact same posture and conditions, and we brought Gibson home.

I started reading literature online, and everything I could get my hands on here- thank you so much to all of you here in the Forum- Gibby would be dead without you all.