Watery urates?

meganragland2013

Location (City and/or State)
Conroe, Tx
Hello! I am new to the tortoise world so I have questions. Today I got home and noticed this dried watery white stuff that I assume is urates. It was quite a bit. I have had them for a couple months and haven’t seen it before. Is this normal?

Attachments

• 5D095F21-7DFF-4681-A1E5-32759952DFD5.jpeg
    5D095F21-7DFF-4681-A1E5-32759952DFD5.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 1

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Urates are common in a lot of species. What you don't want to see is hard or gritty urates. They usually aren't runny, but more like tooth paste. I wouldn't worry and just keep an eye on it for a few days. It could just be cause he had so much of it to expell.
What species do you have?
How big/and age?
How are you housing him? Size of enclosure? Temps, day all over, basking, night?
Substrate?
Humidity?
Diet?
How often do you soak him?

meganragland2013

Conroe, Tx
Urates are common in a lot of species. What you don't want to see is hard or gritty urates. They usually aren't runny, but more like tooth paste. I wouldn't worry and just keep an eye on it for a few days. It could just be cause he had so much of it to expell.
What species do you have?
How big/and age?
How are you housing him? Size of enclosure? Temps, day all over, basking, night?
Substrate?
Humidity?
Diet?
How often do you soak him?