Newbie to leopard torts

VantagePoint

I've wanted a tortoise for a long time and finally found a beautiful leopard last weekend at a local reptile expo. He's 6 months old, and everything seems great so far! After reading and searching threw everything for the past few days I'm only left a little confused with one thing - food. At first I found that most people recommend dark leafy greens regularly( I picked up kale,endive,collard greens and radicchio) but now I'm seeing conflicting answers, so what does everyone here feed?

Secondly, how much do I feed? Right now I give him about 1/4 cup, he eats 80% immediately and the rest disappears in the next 4-5 hours. Does that seem right?

Thank you to everyone in advance!

Elohi

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Texas
I'm new to leopards as well. I have three hatchlings. I've been varying what I feed them but it consists of spring/herb mix, endive, bok choy, wheat grass, chard (they aren't a huge fan), dandelion, chickweed, sow thistle, mazuri, grassland pellets. I soak the mazuri and grassland pellets. I also have given them the occasional kale. They don't seem to be interested in spinach so I don't offer it except a few leaves of it when I give them spring mix. I also pick up small packets of edible flowers every once in a while. They love them!
Dandelion, sow thistle and chickweed are their favorites aside from the spring mix.
There are some super knowledgable people here that can offer a lot more info than I can. Welcome! Do you have pictures? I'd love to see pictures! :)

Oh, and I don't measure what I feed. I fill their saucer with a heaping pile and let them eat their fill. If they eat most or all of it by late afternoon, I refill the dish. I like for them to have food all the time, even if it's stemy dandelion that they have to work at for the parts they want. I see it as giving them something to do ;)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA