Hi, I'm researching!

EmCharles

Location (City and/or State)
Nottingham
Hi all!
Me and my partner are looking at getting a tortoise in the next year or so. I've joined this site to learn more about appropriate care and current knowledge of tortoises. I'm an animal scientist, but this is will be my first time caring for any reptile.
I'm very interested in Hermanns, as they are sub tropical, plus a better size for us. We are in the UK, so I feel this is a more appropriate species.
My main questions are;
- Where should I look for supplies?
I want a good sized enclosure.
- What plants do people grow for tortoises in the uk?
-Where can I most ethically/ reliably purchase/ rescue a tortoise here in the UK?
-what do you do with tortoises whilst on holiday?

I'm not in a rush to get a tortoise, I'll be sorting an appropriate supply of food and enclosure first, along with finding a suitable vet ect.
Thank you,
Em :)

The_Four_Toed_Edward

Finland
In terms of indoor plants, spider plant has been great for me here in Finland, imagine it would grow well in the UK as well. Plus the tortoise table has a great plant data base you could look into: https://www.thetortoisetable.org.uk/plant-database/viewplants/a-z/?l=al

In terms of a proper sized enclosure, with a adult tortoise I would look into DIY:ing one, since it is going to be some much cheaper + properly sized ready-made-enclosures are hard to find.

zolasmum

5 Year Member